Happy Independance Day, my lovely readers! America! WHOO!

This past week has been incredibly eventful. It all started last Friday, when 3 million people (including the Whang Gang) lost all power.

And boy, was it sudden!

That weekend, our family pow-wowed in the basement to keep cool in the 100+ degree weather until (thank God!) we regained power Sunday early afternoon.

I was suddenly reminded of the blackout in Haiti, and I couldn’t help but feel immense gratitude and thankfulness for the situation that our family was blessed to be in, despite the lack of power.

The fact that we have a basement that keeps cool without air conditioning, and clean, running water that allowed us to drink, cook, clean, and wash up…I was re-humbled and re-invigorated for my next trip to Haiti this October.

After the hullaballoo of settling back into our re-powered house, we got ready for the 4th of July!

Our family celebrated by participating in a sponsored event at the Columbia Sheraton Hotel, where we had a beautiful front-row seat to the fireworks show.

The show was beautiful and the night was perfect. And I FINALLY got to try out that “Fireworks” setting on my Canon S90 camera. (See the gallery below for the photos I took that night…the setting is not bad!)

This weekend, the Whang ladies are heading out to Pennsylvania for a girl’s night on the town!

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you’ll know that any time spent with my Mom and my sister will bring about some crazy memories.

Look forward to it! Mwah!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

