On my way to work, I saw a sign.

Literally.

Okay, in reality, there was no extreme wipeout (this time), but there was a stumble, and LOTS of people in Washington DC that got to see me trip into an inanimate object while searching for phantom workers above.

It reminded me immediately about the Aesop Fable about the Astrologer.

To summarize, a famed Astrologer in a town had always boasted of his ability to see the future in the stars. One night, while stargazing, he failed to see a gigantic pit before him, and he tumbled in.

When the town’s folk came to rescue him, one of his rescuers asked him, “What use is it to read the stars, when you can’t see what’s right here on the earth?!”

Aesop’s moral ultimately stated:

Take care of the little things and the big things will take care of themselves.”

Right now, I’m working on a large scale project…for the first few days, I passionately, albeit foolishly, tried to tackle the big parts of the project before handling the little ones.

After today’s little tumble, I realized that I was shown a sign, both literally and figuratively, to slow down, and to tackle the smaller projects at hand first.

I hope this wasn’t just a sign for myself, but helped you all as well with whatever you are doing~

