Hmm. Looks like your kick has been getting kind of low over the years~

The Christian Life is like Martial Arts...

Just kidding, lil bro. You were impressive last Sunday, with all your no-handed flips and kicking and stuffs. Way to represent our people’s sport and Bridgeway. ::thumbs up::

I remember when my brother and I would go to Tae Kwon Do, once to twice a week, almost every week for 11 years. Everything would go be pretty much the same. Line up, pay respects to the master, jog several laps around the dojang (studio), practice kicks/flips/rolling/jumps/forms, then the dreaded sparring…

I used to hate sparring so much. I was the smallest and the only girl in the class for the longest time…and my sparring was…sub-par…

Until I realized that the reason I was sub-par wasn’t because I was a girl or that I was small…but because I was making excuses for being afraid.

Of what, I don’t really know. If it was fear of pain, aside from a black-eye I got once on incident (which really wasn’t all that bad), I never got hurt that much. If it was failure, I was already failing royally by pulling my kicks and punches. Once I came to the realization that I didn’t have to be afraid, I actually got pretty good.

I was small, so I was fast. I was a girl, so other guys pulled their punches. All I had to do was use my circumstances to my advantage and do my best. And I never dreaded sparring again.

Funny how irrational fear can blind you from your true potential.

It’s been a while since I’ve done Tae Kwon Do. Doesn’t mean I’ve lost my madd skillage, though. Here’s a pic that really brings me back. See, Peter? Maybe your kicks ARE getting lower as you age?

Old School

