Yesterday was amazing. Simply amazing…

Not only for the free concert that Far East Movement was holding, but the fact that a group that I’ve been following for years has finally “made it”, becoming the first Asian-American group to hit the mainstream, hitting #2 on the Billboard Charts and going Platinum on their new album “Free Wired.” With Bruno Mars @ #1 on the Billboards, that means the top two mainstream songs right now are by Asian American artists…WOW.

 

FM in the House

 

Times are a-changing, and while I have always had “Asian Pride”, I have to say that right now, I am even prouder to be an Asian American.

The concert was smaller than I expected, in terms of turnout. But that led to a more intimate environment where my friend Diana and I got to spend a few minutes actually talking to FM and getting pictures and autographs.

 

No no, thank YOU.

 

I was shocked at how humble and classy the guys were. They all shook everyone’s hands (2-handed shakes, Asian style!) and sincerely thanked us for coming to support their new album release.

I meanwhile thanked them for putting Asian Americans on the mainstream map, and they were grateful for all the words of support that came from each fan that stopped by to congratulate them.

 

3 Fingers Up for FM...sorry to J-Splif (who's on the other side of the camera)

 

I really hope that this part of them doesn’t change as they continue to dominate the charts.

After the concert, they were surprised on stage by their record label, who congratulated them for officially just going platinum. I was so happy for them. They’ve come a long way, and they’ve worked really hard to get where they are today. They deserve it.

Okay, I think I’m done gushing now 🙂

FOR MORE PHOTOS OF FM FREE WIRED MADNESS, CLICK HERE.

PLEASE SUPPORT FM: Go to their website HERE to see how!

