It’s always good to be prepared…especially when you’re in NYC.

Take today, for instance.

I was sitting on the subway on the way to work, dozing off as usual, when I was abruptly awakened by an unfortunately warm splash.

The old lady sitting next to me accidentally fumbled her cup of tea/coffee(?)/mysterious dark liquid and sent it cascading all over my arms and legs.

Now, if you know me, you know that I hate being dirty, or things being dirty. And having my entire lower half completely sticky…is not my idea of a good time.

But I was prepared!

No, I didn’t have a napkin or tissues to clean myself with (The granny gave me a single McDonald’s napkin to wipe myself off), and no, I didn’t have a change of clothes…

But I did have my quiet time that morning!

What,” you are probably thinking, “does that have to do with being prepared for someone spilling coffee/liquid/whatthewha all over you?”

Good thing I wasn't wearing long pants like Mini-Grace is (above)

It’s all about perspective. I read Psalms 16 this morning, which gave me a great boost in attitude, in confidence, and in knowing that He had my back.

And when I sat there, drenched in stickiness, I didn’t get upset, frustrated, or…anything. I felt sorry for the poor old woman who looked mortified at spilling all over me.

I was grateful. Even though I was soaked, the liquid was not hot and it only got on my legs and feet (and as I was wearing shorts and rubber flip flops, nothing got stained).

So, be prepared. Even when things are tough, stressful and crazy, know that if you start your day with Him and the right perspective, you are arming yourself with the best weapon and defense there is.

And if you’re having a rough day, read Psalms 16 ad I hope it ministers to you the way it did to me today.

Psalm 16

1
Keep me safe, O God,
for in you I take refuge.

2 I said to the LORD, “You are my Lord;
apart from you I have no good thing.”

3 As for the saints who are in the land,
they are the glorious ones in whom is all my delight.

4 The sorrows of those will increase who run after other gods.
I will not pour out their libations of blood or take up their names on my lips.

5 LORD, you have assigned me my portion and my cup;
you have made my lot secure.

6 The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
surely I have a delightful inheritance.

7 I will praise the LORD, who counsels me;
even at night my heart instructs me.

8 I have set the LORD always before me.
Because he is at my right hand,
I will not be shaken.

9 Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;
my body also will rest secure,

10 because you will not abandon me to the grave,
nor will you let your Holy One see decay.

11 You have made known to me the path of life;
you will fill me with joy in your presence,
with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

